Zeeland Charter Township Planning Commission Meeting Minutes May 14th, 2024

The Planning Commission of Zeeland Charter Township met at 7 pm on May 14th, 2024. Members present: Karen Krueze, Tim Miedema, Ron Brink, Robert Brower, Don Steenwyk, Randy Jarzembowski, Steve Nelson, Dennis Russher, Troy Nykamp Also present: Lori Castello, PCI

Kreuze called the meeting to order.

A motion was made and supported to approve the April 9th minutes. Motion carried.

Citizen comment for non-agenda items: None.

Additions/deletions: None.

New Business

Discussion and review future land use map in regard to the applications of Jerry Fraaza and Cliffton Klokkert, provided by The Ottawa County Agricultural Preservation Board for selection into the next agricultural property (or properties) for permanent preservation. In the event that one of those two properties are selected, Section 5.C of Ottawa County's <u>Farmland Development Rights Ordinance</u> requires that townships provide written approval affirming that the provisions in in Section 8 of the Ordinance are consistent with the zoning for the parcel(s) in the applications. Provide feedback to the Board of Trustees.

The Planning Commission reviewed the applications, as well as the future land use map and water/sewer map. The Planning Commission had specific concerns about the parcels on Chicago Dr and future commercial zoning and use there. The PC didn't feel they had enough information to provide any additional input.

Old Business

The PC discussed potential changes to the home-based business section of the zoning ordinance including allowing the business to operate in an accessory structure on the property, hours of operation, changes to the number of non-resident employees and vehicles on premises. Lori will make the changes to the ordinance language and schedule a public hearing for next month.

Board of Trustees Update - Ron Brink

Ron left the PC know that the Board of Trustee denied their recommendation to rezone the Ruth Staat property at 9501 Woodbridge St. from R-1 to R-2.

Motion to adjourn at 8:25 pm.

Katy Steenwyk, Recording Secretary

Randy Jarzembowski, Secretary